Layer Me Pretty.

unnamed-2

As Natasha implied, she has been grounded from the blog for a post or two. Leaving me alone with my thoughts and a closet full of clothes. So I ask myself what I should challenge my readers with next?

Layers. Layers are scary — let’s face it, they’re absolutely frightening. The task of combining patterns, colors, and different pieces of clothing together is daunting (at least it always has been for me).

But if there is one thing I have learned while working as a visual stylist, it is that everything you put together must tell a story. Think of what you wear, and what you put together, as a work of art. The pieces are coming together to create a masterpiece.

So, when you put together an outfit look in the mirror and think to yourself: what is my story? Where is their consistency and what I’m wearing? Is there a consistent color? Do I wish to portray an era: 70s bohemian or the flirty 50s?

IMG_4603

hat: Altar’d State dress: Anthropologie (similar here) leggings: Urban Outfitters coat: Urban Outfitters (hereshoes: Steve Madden (similar here)

As you can probably tell, my story here is black-and-white. I chose a combination of patterns and textures: stripes, checks, and of course the necessary leopard (if you have looked at any of our past posts from this blog, you know that we do not stray from the challenge of leopard as it presents itself. In Tash’s and my opinion, leopard is always a good idea).

Yes there’s a lot going on in my outfit; I have two different patterns and different fabrics. However, in the end it all works because I am telling a story. I have consistency.

If you put a hot pink striped shirt with a yellow pair of pants and a black sweater it would look horrific. I’m sorry if you have happened to wear this exact outfit, but it probably was. Pick a color, era, fabric, or consistency of some sort and go full force with it. That is what makes layers work.

unnamed-3

And remember… if at first you don’t succeed, try try again.

Until next time.

Xoxo, Emily

2 thoughts on “Layer Me Pretty.

Leave a Reply

