Snow Bird

IMG_0728

Dress: Urban Outfitters (here) || Booties: Frye (here) || Scarf: Nordstrom (here) || Hat: Nordstrom (old, similar here)

So I finally went back home to Tampa. And after 7 degree temperatures and mountains of snow, it couldn’t have been a better treat.

I started with tanning, promptly turned myself into a lobster, and then dragged my little sister to the mall. For a long time. And apparently the diva gene is not shared between us, because after the first hour she wanted to kill me. By the fifth, I think she wanted to kill herself.

I watched a light die in her eyes before I finally allowed us to leave… and then I made her make pictures of me.

Trust me, she loves me.

IMG_0781

Regardless, it was incredibly successful mall trip. I found SO many things that I wanted for spring, and impulse control reached an all time low. And with the weather warming (burning) my skin, I absolutely had to pick up a couple of things that I could rock while home…

IMG_0773IMG_0767

Naturally, I had to figure out how to rock it when back in Baltimore. And, naturally, I turned to black in order to make this a possibility.

I saw this dress in Urban Outfitters styled similarly to how I’m wearing it first — a light scarf and booties. When I decided to make it winter-wearable, I took Emily’s advice and stole a chunky black sweater from my sister’s wardrobe. While I would go ahead and admit this is in no way warm enough for Baltimore, I will say that this look can be imitated with most of the swing dresses at Urban… and it is so much more comfortable than the jeans I’ve been trapped in for three months.

I’ve decided something — freedom feels like the sun.

IMG_0768

Sweater: Nordstrom (old, I like this one) || Boots: Lucchese (here)

One thought on “Snow Bird

Leave a Reply

