Stripe Me

DSC_4801

I loved doing this shoot while Tash was in town visiting. I think it truly epitomizes who we are; in terms of our differences in style.

A picture is worth a thousand words, right? Well, this one says a lot.

(Side note: keep in mind I am currently living in Tampa, Florida and she is living in Baltimore. So our differences will occasionally be a result of temperature. Seeing as that it is currently 70 degrees in Tampa opposed to a whopping 10 degrees in Baltimore. Of course, this post is still in the realm of winter wear… but it is a Florida winter.)

DSC_4806

{EMILY’S OUTFIT}  Shirt: J.Crew (old, similar here) || Skirt: Topshop (here) || Shoes: Urban Outfitters (here) || Hat: Topshop (similar here) || Jewelry: Michael Kors, Madewell, J.Crew, Kendra Scott

Over the years, Tash and I have totally switched places when it comes to fashion preferences. In high school, I was the one who had more conservative taste. I worked for J.Crew at the time and so my closet was a reflection of the inside of their store. I was very simple and preppy. Natasha was the adventurer. She would wear things that I was always intimidated by. I just stuck with my classic and uncomplicated wardrobe; consisting of a lot of neutrals, pencil skirts, and collared blouses. Patterns were a rarity.

Now I’m not saying Natasha is simple and preppy now, but she does gravitate towards girly. And while I have filled the role as the Bohem, she is now the beloved businesswoman. She works the classic cuts and pumps and I… I own a pair of red combat boots.  I never thought I’d see the day, but there it is. Red Combat Boots (don’t judge me they’re actually a more deep red and are super fun during the snowy seasons).

DSC_4813

{TASH’S OUTFIT}  Top & Skirt: a.Haley || Coat: Nordstrom || Pumps: J.Crew (here)

So for this post, Tash and I decided we wanted to play with lots of stripes and from there picked out our own looks. I think they both came out so ideal with one being more professional and one being wilder. Tash took a matching striped top and skirt and added a classic coat and pair of black pumps to pull it together. Adding some floral sunglasses for kicks. It is a very lady-like and timeless look, which is very reflective of her personality (Tash has always been the consistent and dependable friend in our relationship. She is the rational thinker and our fearless leader. And then there is me…). I took two oppositely striped pieces and added a lavender hat, chunky black booties, and fluffy vest that my Mom believes makes me look like a Muppets character. This is a more explorative look. Consisting of different textures and pieces (similar to my personality. I am the hot mess. The creative mind that is always in its own world; pushing boundaries and breaking the rules).

I’ve always loved the differences in our style. We just look at things differently and challenge each other. I guess that’s why we have been friends since middle school.

Before I get any sappier about how much I love Tash and become the stereotypical emotional woman: crying all over my keyboard and causing it to crash on me… I’m going to stop typing.

Xoxo, Emily

Leave a Reply

