Winter Whites

 

DSC_4872

I know what you’re thinking. White? During Winter? Isn’t that some horrifying fashion faux pas? Yes, I suppose it is. But if you have read any of my other posts and know a little bit of me, then you know I am one to rarely follow the rules. I like to think of it as improving on the rules. I take it as a challenge to prove them wrong.

So, I decided to go out on a limb and dare to break this rule. I agree that a bright white during winter may look a bit off. However, if you go a slight shade darker to a light ivory you should be in the clear (to be honest, this post should really be called Winter Ivory, but that didn’t sound as aesthetically pleasing as Winter Whites).

DSC_4897   DSC_4909   DSC_4901

Dress: Topshop || Coat: Vintage || Shoes: Steve Madden || Clutch: Vintage

I love nothing more than monochromatic white (or ivory). It is probably one of my favorite fashion “go-to’s.” Whether it be a white lace blouse and white blazer, a loose white tank and my white tuxedo vest, or the outfit you see here. And if you are ever in a rush and need a quick outfit to throw on—whether it be summer or winter—you can never go wrong with this simple white on white action.

DSC_4878

Watch: Michael Kors || Bangle: Madewell || Earrings: Anthropologie (also like these) || Ring: Kendra Scott (here)

I especially love wearing this dress and coat combo to winter parties and functions when other women are wearing their black lace and blue velvet (not that I dislike either of those options). However, during the colder seasons I can start to get visually depressed by all the darker colors; black coats, black boots, and grey sweaters. It can all be too much. So this is my solution the melancholy winter wear. And it’s especially fun when paired with elegant emerald accessories and a bright red lipstick!

Hope this daily dose of fashion advice revives you.

Xoxo, Emily

7 thoughts on “Winter Whites

  1. Lesley February 27, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    Love it! Adorable coat and the fur on the dress adds a touch of formal with fun!

    Like

  2. Kristina February 28, 2015 / 4:45 pm

    You look amazing in all white! And i love your makeup! 🙂

    Recently I have started as a guest designer for a famous bag brand and my first design of a belt bag is out! ❤ I would love to hear what you think about it! 🙂
    Hope to see you soon on my blog
    http://www.beneaththecoat.com
    Bloglovin
    Facebook 🙂

    Kisses from Zurich,
    K

    Like

    • emandtash March 2, 2015 / 2:04 am

      Ahh thank you so much! I’ll be sure to check it out.

      Like

  3. Kristiina March 5, 2015 / 5:09 am

    Your hair is perfect in this post! Really wishing I hadn’t just cut bangs.

    Like

    • emandtash March 5, 2015 / 1:50 pm

      Thank you so much! And I love the thought of bangs, they’re just way too high maintenance for me — I’m sure they look great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

